Martin again

December 6th, 2012

The City Council appears to have agreed on keeping current Chairman Ernie Martin in the top leadership position as the calendar starts on a new year of business.

According to a resolution submitted to the city clerk, Martin would retain the chairmanship, with Councilman Ikaika Anderson serving as vice chairman and Councilman Breene Harimoto succeeds Romy Cachola (who was elected to the state House) as floor leader.

The resolution, dated Dec. 5, was signed by the seven sitting Council members who will be returning next year, including the newest members, Councilman Joey Manahan, who was sworn-in last month to succeed Cachola, and Councilwoman Carol Fukunaga, who took the oath of office last week in filling the seat vacated by U.S. Rep.-elect Tulsi Gabbard.

Councilmen Nestor Garcia and Tom Berg, who did not sign, said their good-byes to the Council on Wednesday as members met for the last time in 2012 (their terms end Jan. 2). They are being succeeded by Council members-elect Ron Menor and Kymberly Pine.

The resolution still must be introduced and voted on by the Council when it opens the year on Jan. 2.

Resolution 12 331

Leave a Reply