Staggering Terms**

September 27th, 2011

In creating new boundaries for the state’s political districts, the state Reapportionment Commission also was tasked with designating 12 of the 25 state Senate seats as two-year terms.

All 25 of the four-year terms are up for election in 2012. After that, 12 will be up again in 2014, the rest in 2016.

The process to split the seats was purely mathematical, commission staff members said.

First, it had to be determined which census blocks — the units used for drawing up districts — did not participate in a state Senate election in 2010.

Staff then determined the population of each census block in each new Senate district that had an election for state Senate in 2010.

Finally, the staff identified 12 new Senate district seats which had the smallest populations of participation in the 2010 senatorial elections. These 12 new Senate districts were designated to have two-year terms in 2012.

If you’re still following, the list of two- and four-year terms is below.**
Senate Terms (Revised)
**This list is corrected from the original version issued by the commission on Monday, Sept. 26.

Leave a Reply