BYUH’s Navalta named DII Coach of Year

December 12th, 2012

Great news for Coach Wil, who told his team and then me that Friday was his last match at BYUH. (He hasn’t told the BYUH SID yet, tho.) Great season, picked up his 600th win too. although the AVCA has an incorrect record for him. I have him at 611-145.

The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA announced that BYU-Hawaii head women’s volleyball coach Wilfred Navalta has been selected as the 2012 AVCA Division II National Coach of the Year.

They advanced to the NCAA II semifinals were knocked out of the NCAA Tournament by the now six-time defending champion Concordia-St. Paul Golden Bears.
The team was ranked first in Pacific West Conference matches with an undefeated finish of 16-0. They established themselves as one of the top teams in nation, having been ranked in the top-10 of the AVCA Coaches Poll for the vast majority of the season. Due to their excellent regular season, BYU-Hawaii was selected as the host of the West Region of the NCAA Tournament. Three BYUH players were named to the West All-Region Team and as AVCA All-Americans: Ying Chun Chen, Shih Ting Chen, and Lauren Hagermeyer.
Navalta has won eight NAIA National Championships and two Division II Championships during his tenure at BYUH. He was honored as National Coach of the Year in 1999 and 1996. Navalta won NAIA Regional Coach of the Year awards in 1996 and 1997, and he won the Division II West Region Coach of the Year in 1998, making 2012 his second DII Region Coach of the Year award.

Be Sociable, Share!
  • Cindy Luis December 12, 2012 at 11:03 am

    And perhaps it’s just me but found the AVCA release a bit patronizing. It said “all the way out in Hawaii’ there is one of the best coaches.
    they really have no clue.
    The state dominated NAIA volleyball almost from its inception and then NCAA DII for a while.
    in 1979, UH Hilo won the AIAW DII title (hours before the Wahine won the DI title on the same day). Then Vulcans won 81 (2 titles, AIAW II and NAIA) then NAIA 82, 83, 84
    BYUH 86, 87.
    UHH 88,
    HPU 90.
    BYUH 91, 92, 94, 95, 96, 97.
    Schools moved to NCAA II
    HPU wins 98, BYUH wins 99, HPU 00, BYUH 02

    The only college in Hawaii never to have won a national volleyball title is Chaminade.

  • rnr December 12, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    Interesting tid bit… thank you!

  • Post a comment

    Threaded commenting powered by interconnect/it code.